Finding My Focus

A big part of minimalism is clearing away the clutter to make more room for whatever one determines is most important to them. This process works as well for the non-material parts of life as it is does for cleaning out your closets, but a lot of minimalist “how to” articles leave out the more important overarching task that guides the process… figuring out what’s important. Determining where you want to focus your resources first certainly makes the process easier. However, figuring out what’s important can be pretty difficult when your house is overflowing with stuff and your schedule doesn’t allow enough time for sleep. I’ve found that moving forward and just starting to clear bits of clutter from my life here and there eventually gave me the space I needed for contemplation. Our focus tends to evolve over time based on our experiences anyway. Our priorities 10 years ago are certainly different than they are today, and that’s a good thing. It’s evidence of our growth. Like everything else, our priorities are impermanent.

When I started this blog a little over a year ago, it didn’t have a focus. I knew I wanted to share my writing with other people but I had so many interests that I felt overwhelmed. I didn’t want to limit myself. I wrote about whatever came to mind and hoped that it might be useful or entertaining to others. I came from a background of formal, professional writing, such as academic essays and government grant applications. I struggled to write in a casual way that created connections with people. I had hoped that blog writing would expand my skills a bit in this direction. As months passed, I found that my posts unintentionally fit into four categories: writing, grants, travel, and minimalism. Now it’s clear where I want to focus my energy. I’ve naturally arrived at a point when I’m ready once again to clear away some clutter to make room for where I want this blog to go.

Travel & Minimalism

Travel because travel writing is so much fun and because many people find it entertaining and useful. Minimalism because this philosophy underlies the way I live and inevitably influences everything in my life. Many thanks to those of you who have read, liked, and commented on my posts so far. I hope that those of you who share my interests will continue to walk with me on this path for a while longer.

One thought on “Finding My Focus

Leave a Reply

